| Materials Management Division
|About MMD | Contact Us | Admin Home|
Navigating the Supplier Portal
Vendors interested in learning how to navigate our Supplier Portal are invited to a presentation on December 19, 2014, from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. at the Centennial Office Building (Lady Slipper Room), 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55101.
You will learn: How to Access the Supplier Portal, Create a User ID, Find Bid Events, Place a Bid, Find Bid Tabulation Results, Review Vendor Payments & Maintain Supplier Information. Pre-registration is required. To register for this presentation, contact Chris Amundson at 651.259.3678 or by email (Chris.Amundson@state.mn.us) with registration information (Company Name, Phone Number, Address, Cell Number & Email Address).
NOTE: The first 25 vendors to register will be admitted to each session. Additional sessions will be scheduled based on the number of registrations received.
Equal Pay Requirements for State Purchasing and Contracting
Following passage of the 2014 Women's Economic Security Act, vendors with 40 or more employees in Minnesota or their primary place of business are required to obtain an Equal Pay Certificate from the Minnesota Department of Human Rights (MDHR) prior to executing a contract for over $500,000. Vendors will be required to attest to specific gender-based non-discrimination requirements and pay a $150 fee to the MDHR. For more details, contact the MDHR.
Vendor Registration & Payment Questions
Vendors interested in doing business with the state of Minnesota must register through the Supplier Portal, which is part of the state's new accounting and procurement system. The Supplier Portal consolidates the state's vendor registration function and provides vendors with new options. Before you log in to the Supplier Portal for the first time, it is important that you review the comprehensive resources on registration for current and new vendors at Vendor Registration & Payment Questions (http://mn.gov/mmb/accounting/swift/vendor_resources/).
Registered vendors will be able to view certain solicitation announcements through the Supplier portal. An added benefit is the ability to respond to certain solicitations in an online bidding process. Solicitations for goods and services (including professional services and large-dollar construction projects) will continue to be advertised on our Solicitation Announcements page.
Presentations From the September 11, 2014, Workshop for Vendors
Presentations From the September 10, 2013, Workshop for Vendors
Presentations From the September 6, 2012, Workshop for Vendors
Soliciting Bids and Proposals
Registered vendors may be sent invitations to bid or requests for proposals. However, we do not routinely send solicitations to all vendors who provide a specific commodity or service. Most state bid invitations and requests for proposals over $10,000 are posted on our Solicitation Announcements page.
Registering to Conduct Business in Minnesota
Depending on a vendor's business structure and nature of the contract, vendors contracting with the State of Minnesota may be required to adhere to business registration requirements of the Office of the Secretary of State. Information (itemized by business structure) can be found at: http://www.sos.state.mn.us/index.aspx?page=92 (see step 2). Forms and information about electronic filing can be found at: http://www.sos.state.mn.us/index.aspx?page=331.
Sales Tax Information
If your company sells goods or services that are subject to sales tax in Minnesota, you must register with the Minnesota Department of Revenue to collect sales tax. Minnesota state agencies pay sales tax directly to the Revenue Department under the terms of the Direct Pay Permit issued July 1, 1995.
For each State Contract or Purchase Order that is covered by Prevailing Wage requirements, contractors and subcontractors are required to furnish payroll information to the State. The contractors and subcontractors must furnish, via email, the Prevailing Wage Payroll Information Form in Microsoft Office Excel format and the Statement of Compliance in Adobe PDF format. These forms must be furnished not more than 14 days after the end of each pay period. No other payroll forms will be accepted to meet this requirement. The prevailing wage payroll form is found at:
Minnesota New Hire Reporting
Federal and State law requires employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees in Minnesota to the Minnesota New Hire Reporting Center. For information about these reporting requirements, visit the Minnesota New Hire Reporting Center.
Effective July 21, 2011, state law requires that "contracts for services valued in excess of $50,000 must require certification from the vendor and any subcontactors that, as of the date services on behalf of the state of Minnesota will be performed, the vendor and all subcontractors have implemented or are in the process of implementing the federal E-Verify program for all newly hired employees in the United States who will perform work on behalf of the State of Minnesota."
E-Verify is a federal system established by the Department of Homeland Security to determine the immigration and work-eligibility status of prospective employees.
Detailed E-Verify program information for employers can be found at http://www.dhs.gov/e-verify.
E-Verify requirements became a part of all applicable State of Minnesota service contract templates beginning July 1, 2011. In addition, contractors are required to obtain certification from any subcontractors working for them on any service contract in excess of $50,000. The state has prepared an E-Verify Subcontractor Certification form that prime contractors can utilize to confirm subcontractor compliance. E-Verify Subcontractor Certification forms are to be kept on file with the prime contract vendor and made available to the state upon request.
Human Rights Requirements
The following provisions in Minn. Stat. 363A.36 may affect you and your ability to bid on state purchases:
Vendors who intend to bid on any purchases or contracts exceeding $100,000, and have had on any single working day in the past year more than 40 employees in Minnesota, must apply for a Certificate of Compliance from the Minnesota Department of Human Rights. State agencies cannot accept bids or proposals on purchases or contracts exceeding $100,000 from Minnesota vendors unless the Commissioner of Human Rights has received the vendor's affirmative action plan for the employment of minority persons, women, and qualified disabled individuals. State agencies cannot make awards exceeding $100,000 to Minnesota vendors unless the Commissioner of Human Rights has approved the vendor's affirmative action plan and issued a certificate of compliance to the vendor. Vendors who do not have more than 40 employees in Minnesota, but who do have more than 40 employees in the state in which their principal place of business is located, will be required to certify that the business is in compliance with federal affirmative action requirements in order to receive awards exceeding $100,000.
The Human Rights Department has been authorized to charge a fee for each Certificate of Compliance issued.
Contact the Human Rights Department for more information: http://mn.gov/mdhr
Minnesota Workforce Centers
Vendors are encouraged to list their open positions with the Minnesota Workforce Center System. For more information, call the Workforce Center System toll-free at 1.888.GET.JOBS, or visit their website at http://www.minnesotaworks.net.
|Information found on this website can be made available in alternative formats, such as large print, Braille, or on tape, by calling 651.296.2600. Persons with a hearing or speech disability can contact us through the Minnesota Relay Service by dialing 711 or 1.800.627.3529.
The State of Minnesota is an Equal Opportunity Employer.
|©2000-2011 State of Minnesota, Department of Administration|
|What's New | Site Map | Staff Directory | Send Email|