| Materials Management Division
FAQS for Vendors
|About MMD | Contact Us | Admin Home|
Frequently Asked Questions
What does the State of Minnesota buy?
The Administration Department is responsible for the state's purchasing of goods and some services, either through one-time buys or through long-term commodity contracts. All state agencies have the authority to purchase locally up to $2,500, without submitting a request through the Materials Management Division (MMD). Some agency personnel have delegated authority to make purchases up to $10,000, some have authority up to $25,000 and others have authority up to $50,000. Consultant or technical services are also contracted at the agency level.
How can I register my company as a vendor to the State of Minnesota?
Registration as a vendor can be made via the state's Supplier Portal. You will need your Federal Employer Identification Number and Minnesota State Tax Identification Number (if applicable) when you register. Being registered is not a guarantee that you will be sent invitations to bid or requests for proposals - only that your name will appear on the list as a potential vendor for the products you sell or services you provide.
Is there training available for vendors using the new Supplier Portal?
Navigating the Supplier Portal
MMD hosts a training session for vendors - Navigating the Supplier Portal - about once per month. Class information is posted on the Vendor Information page of this website.
How do I find out what opportunities are available from the State of Minnesota?
Most of the state's solicitations and requests for proposals for goods and services, construction and professional and technical services are posted on this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/solicitations.htm. In addition, major contracts (estimated value over $50,000) for consulting, professional/technical, or computer-related services are advertised each Monday in the State Register available online at www.minnesotasbookstore.com.
How can I obtain a list of MMD acquisition personnel and the goods and services that they buy?
A list of MMD acquisition management specialists and their commodity/service lines is available on this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/mn06003a.asp.
Does the state of Minnesota pay sales tax?
The state of Minnesota generally pays sales tax directly to the department of Revenue. Our direct pay permit can be found at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/pdf/directpaypermit.pdf.
What is a VPAT? What do I need to do to complete one?
Voluntary Product Assessment Templates (VPATs) are templates that enable vendors to self-certify how their products conform to Minnesota's Accessibility Standard. For guidance on the VPAT processes, please visit MN.IT's Office of Accessibility page on IT procurement.
How can I obtain a list of agency personnel responsible for processing professional and technical services contracts?
The state agency contract coordinators list is available on this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/mn05008.asp.
What is the Small Business Procurement Program?
In early 1990, the Minnesota legislature passed a bill which authorized the Administration Department, Materials Management Division, to operate a program for Targeted Group (TG) and Economically Disadvantaged (ED) small businesses. The program has been effect since July 1, 1990. More recently, Veteran-Owned small businesses have been added to the Small Business Procurement Program.
Certified Targeted Group, Economically Disadvantaged and Veteran-Owned small businesses may be eligible for up to 6% preference in selling their products or services to the state in accordance with the Commissioner's designation of eligible businesses. In addition, certified Targeted Group, Economically Disadvantaged and Veteran-Owned small businesses may be eligible for subcontracting opportunities on contracts for professional and technical services and construction.
More information can be found on this website at: http://www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/mn02001.htm.
What is considered a small business?
MMD has adopted Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 26.65, which sets variable size standards by industry in order to determine what is a small business. Using this approach, we have a size limit that for some industries is $1 million in annual gross sales, for other industries the limit may be as high as $23.98 million in annual gross sales. Size standards by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code are published on this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/sicsize.asp.
What is a Targeted Group small business?
To be certified as a Targeted Group small business, the business must be at least 51% owned by a woman, racial minority, or person with a substantial physical disability. In addition, the business must be operated and controlled on a day-to-day as well as long-term basis by the qualifying owner. In other words, ownership is not enough; operational control is also required.
What is an Economically Disadvantaged small business?
To be certified as an Economically Disadvantaged small business, the business must be located in a labor surplus area, as designated by the federal government, or in a low income county in Minnesota. Economically Disadvantaged small businesses must be certified as such by MMD in order to participate in the program. A list of eligible counties is available on the MMD website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/lsalist.htm.
Do Veteran-Owned Businesses get preference?
Certain veteran-owned small businesses may receive preference when responding to solicitations. Eligible veteran-owned small businesses with their principal place of business in Minnesota must be either certified as such by the Materials Management Division or currently verified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' Center for Veterans Enterprise prior to the solicitation opening date and time to receive the preference. More information is available on this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/veterans.htm.
How do I obtain an application for Targeted Group, Economically Disadvantaged or Veteran-Owned certification?
An application for certification as a Targeted Group, Economically Disadvantaged or Veteran-Owned small business can be downloaded from this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/pdf/TGWebApp.pdf.
Where is the Materials Management Division located?
Address information and directions are published on this website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/location.htm.
|You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to print or view PDF files.
Information found on this website can be made available in alternative formats, such as large print, Braille, or on tape, by calling 651.296.2600. Persons with a hearing or speech disability can contact us through the Minnesota Relay Service by dialing 711 or 1.800.627.3529.
The State of Minnesota is an Equal Opportunity Employer.
|©2000-2016 State of Minnesota, Department of Administration|
|What's New | Site Map | Staff Directory | Send Email|